Campus Carry Update 1/30/17

Last week a hearing was held before the Senate Fed and State committee on SB 53, the "campus carry" bill. It was a pretty raucous environment, which was just fine, and by our count we had 55 proponents (for the bill) as against 5 opponents. An article about the hearing from the Capitol-Journal can be found here. Thank you to those who showed up at the Capitol or submitted written testimony. 

This week the action moves to the House, where we have a hearing on the companion bill... 

HB 2074, before the House Fed & State Committee, this coming Wednesday, Feb. 1, at 9AM, in the Old Supreme Court room on the 3rd floor. This is the committee that we have a chance with, so it's important for us to make a good show. We think we have plenty of oral and written testimony, but if you have room in your life to help us fill the (much bigger) committee room, then come on along! 

In the meantime, we still need to be making phone calls, to both the committees and to the legislators generally. 

Here are the members of the House Fed & State Committee: 

Rep John Barker (Chair)
Phone: 785 296-7674
Email: john.barker@house.ks.gov

Rep Ron Highland (Vice Chair)
Phone: 785 296-7310
Email: ron.highland@house.ks.gov

Rep Louis Ruiz (Ranking) 
Phone: 785 296-7885
Email: louis.ruiz@house.ks.gov

Rep Tory Arnberger
Phone: 785 296-7363
Email: ToryMarie.Arnberger@house.ks.gov

Rep Francis Awerkamp
Phone: 785 296-6989
Email: francis.awerkamp@house.ks.gov

Rep Blake Carpenter
Phone: 785-296-7567
Email: blake.carpenter@house.ks.gov

Rep Stephanie Clayton
Phone: 785 296-7548
Email: stephanie.clayton@house.ks.gov

Rep Ronald Ellis
Phone: 785 296-5623
Email: Ronald.Ellis@house.ks.gov

Rep Broderick Henderson
Phone: 785 296-7697
Email: broderick.henderson@house.ks.gov

Rep Boog Highberger
Phone: 785-296-7122
Email: dennis.boog.highberger@house.ks.gov

Rep Michael Houser 
Phone: 785 296-7679
Email: michael.houser@house.ks.gov

Rep Susan Humphries 
Phone: 785 296-7699
Email: Susan.Humphries@house.ks.gov

Rep Trevor Jacobs
Phone: 785 296-7616
Email: Trevor.Jacobs@house.ks.gov

Rep Jim Karleskint 
Phone: 785 296-7683
Email: Jim.Karleskint@house.ks.gov

Rep Nancy Lusk
Phone: 785 296-7651
Email: nancy.lusk@house.ks.gov

Rep Vic Miller 
Phone: 785 296-7656
Email: Vic.Miller@house.ks.gov

Rep Melissa Rooker 
Phone: 785 296-7686
Email: melissa.rooker@house.ks.gov

Rep. Tom Sawyer 
Phone: 785 296-7691
Email: tom.sawyer@house.ks.gov

Rep Eric Smith 
Phone: 785 296-7557
Email: Eric.Smith@house.ks.gov

Rep Chuck Weber 
Phone: 785-296-7473
Email: chuck.weber@house.ks.gov

Rep John Whitmer 
Phone: 785-296-7567
Email: john.whitmer@house.ks.gov

Rep Kristey Williams 
Phone: 785-296-3971
Email: kristey.williams@house.ks.gov

Rep John Wilson 
Phone: 785 296-7652
Email: john.wilson@house.ks.gov

If your legislator is not on this list, call them anyway! To find your own legislator, click here. Call the office, or write an email, saying: "My name is so-and-so, I'm a constituent and a [student/parent/professor] and I oppose concealed carry on our university campuses. Please vote yes on SB 53/HB 2074."

If you're a student, and you're from Kansas, call your HOME legislator - and ask your parents and their friends to do it also! 

We'll keep you posted. Let us know if you have any questions. Success to us all! 

To make a donation to support our efforts, please click here

 

Showing 1 reaction

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.

Donate Volunteer Find an Event SIGN THE PETITION

connect

get updates